Mother’s Day 2012 …the Good, the Bad & the Ugly!!!

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

There have been many celebrations and recognized festivals honoring Motherhood throughout the centuries – this is not surprising as even the ancients recognized that life itself and the very existence of the species depends on we women gestating and producing the human kind. The modern day – especially U.S. Mother’s Day – is however quite a different situation. Our annual May Holiday, along with being commercially important for the GNP, is an attempt to idealize Motherhood, no matter the often sad realities of some.

My own wise Mother said often that parenting is NOT a noun but instead an active verb. I myself have known women who think that just the act of giving birth elevates them to near sainthood …others who used their children to fulfill an emptiness in their own life and still others who used their offspring for financial gain and payback after divorce. Recently, the GOP Presidential 2012 nominee’s wife, Ann Romney, caused much controversy by proclaiming Motherhood the hardest job in the world. I do not consider my being a Mother a hard job but a privilege and honor – yes something that takes my conserted energy but still a gift from G-d [of course I am blessed with a stay at home husband/devoted father to my children]. My years of sometime painful and very costly fertility treatment were the price for the gift of twin sons late in life and now we are thrilled to be considering a gestational carrier for our other frozen embryos …even the miscarriages and then many struggles I  had being pregnant  with our sons – does not afford me some crown of glory. I often discuss with my husband never wanting these much desired children that he and I adore to feel obligated to us for the great sacrifices we choose in order to have them …our plan has been/always will be for our children to only be as determined as we two are to love and honor our family unit.

I want to end by sending my gratitude, admiration and love to ALL the women who have shown me maternal love and guidance …my own feminist progressive Mother, Mary Rose, my grandmothers and great grandmothers, my husband’s Mother Rosemary and grandmother Valeria – for raising my wonderful husband, my absolutely amazing gal pals/friends who love me so well, the many women colleagues and associates who comfort and guide me,  the professional women in my life who work along side me/on my behalf and those who protect and defend me from the evil doer types who sadly do exist. Additionally, the  women like Fist Lady Obama, Hillary Clinton, etc. who set maternal examples of doing it all!!!

P.S. I need to thank my very wonderful husband, C. Michael Eliasz-Solomon …for being a feminist [legally taking my last name/having our children have that same last name], for protecting our family from ALL those who would do harm to us/for forsaking all others for our family unit, for deciding to be a stay at home parent – in order to raise our children well and most of all for going through all the expense and effort and stress to bring our sweet babies into this world. I LOVE being the Mother of your ONLY children …I thank G-d each day that I could make your dream of finally having children come true – of course, post pregnant training and lipo is a whole other story, lol:-)))

Leave a Reply

