Why it is only Cool to be a Fashionista if you have REAL Substance & Brains Too!!!

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

As with many things in life, some people use outward appearances to cover up insecurities and their deep seeded real life problems.  Often I find they are avoiding their own truths …past wrong doings, losses, insecurities, etc..  I believe the template is set early in life – as to being superficial/deceptive or well rounded/honest about yourself.  I am attempting, as I am blessed to have had my parents do, to be a parent that promotes fullness and honesty in my children’s life.  Sadly, other parents have not done so in raising their children and the result has caused suffering for many …including the victims of these people.

You are probably wondering how this serious subject relates to fashion …well it does in that the cloak of clothes are often used for self delusion and misrepresentation by the gross evil doers among us.  Me – I just love to look good, while doing good.  I readily admit to being a devoted fashionista & worshiping Anna Wintour I have been thrilled to own/wear couture clothes & in fact have enjoyed attending New York fashion week more than once.  Likewise I am not ashamed to say that Paris/Milan Fashion week are both on my to do bucket list.  Even the diaper bag for our twin sons is Prada & just this week my style conscious husband/their devoted Daddy picked out little Prada shoes for his darling boys.  So you see that I find nothing egregious with loving fashion BUT I do find the pretenders among us, the misanthropes & the delusional narcissistic types quite offensive.

Throughout history & even today major world figures – in politics, government, business, etc. – have used fashion to define their role & to effect circumstances. This is only a valid attempt at effecting change if & only if there is REAL substance & intelligence behind the outward appearance …only legitimate if the clothing is not  a ruse or cover up for loathsome character!

The other problem I find is that the very least substantial individuals are often the most quick to criticize those of us who care about appearance but, unlike them, also care equally about  more substantive issues. In other words, those who protest not caring about such “trivial” things like designer clothes & yet attempt to emulate & imitate those of us with REAL intrinsic good taste, while they show no evidence of concern for more serious issues.  Oh well, envy has always & will always exist – sadly, the very ones most envious are often those that thwart their own possibilities. I will continue to pray for a generous spirit concerning the envious, the less accomplished usurpers & even the dangerous types among us – of course, all the while dressing quite well for my role as Heiress Mommy!!!

P.S. May I strongly recommend the book by Francois Boucher, “20,000 Years of Fashion” …great reading on the historical importance of fashion when combined with talent & brains!!!

Leave a Reply

