Losing Nora Ephron

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

On 26 June 2012 a light went out – permanently gone from the world. Writer, essayist, humorist, movie director, wife, mother and overall GREAT gal Nora Ephron died. We lose this wonderful woman far too soon/much too young at age 71.

I always pictured Ephron an old grand dame pontificating in NYC among the intelligentsia and the women who don’t do lunch. I had hoped for some small chance to have her as a surrogate Auntie type in my own life once I am a full time NY/NYC resident – planning to plead for her attention and sending her a copy of my first book, “Heiress Mommy” [2013] signed with my love and admiration.

My own feminist quick witted progressive mother introduced me to Ephron’s work by giving me the book “Crazy Salad” – I think my affection for Nora might have a little to do with the fact that like my mother, she was acerbic, sarcastic but also a really fair minded and loving woman – they both were the take no prisoner type of broad that I aspire to be.

Nora Ephron and I are both a mother of two sons, happily married and Jewish. I am gladdened by the fact that like myself, she was married to what friends describe as a loving, supportive, intellectual comrade. My condolences to ALL who loved her.

Our shared Jewish faith teaches that remembrance is a route to eternal life – hers, as I hope my own will be, was a large life and as such Nora Ephron will live on forever!

4 Responses to “Losing Nora Ephron”

  1. I love Nora Ephron. It makes me sad. I’m so glad she was willing to follow her dreams and forge the path that she did. She’s made an incredible mark, and I love that!

  2. You are in point of fact a excellent webmaster. The site loading velocity is incredible. It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a magnificent job on this subject!

  3. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for
    such info a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

