Pregnancy Klout…

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

Being with child has become quite chic and a route to big time Klout  … a definite fashion statement and lifestyle plus. Stars, corporate  executives and other brainy type broads are doing the pregnancy thing with verve and panache. For me it was being everything and more – birthing babies never being allowed to stop my progress toward the goal line of life. But oh baby – did I ever have to get tough against all odds to become a mother late in my glorious and full life. You think you have a story? Trust me – varicose veins and morning sickness are nothing compared to my journey into the nursery [my 2013 book: Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! will detail not only my fertility treatments but also the issue of dealing with loathsome miscreants and lie spewing enemies I/we had to contend with during our happiest of times – do not worry, we ALWAYS defeat the evil doers].

There are so many being garrulous about pregnancy these days. We are bombarded with a plethora of ads, TV shows, films, magazines and pregnancy related online sites [twitter, facebook and blogs]. In fact here we are on my appropriately titled HeiressMOMMY blog. Why now – isn’t having children simply the natural order of things? Surely the world’s increasing fertility problems and women like myself who look to get pregnant later in life demands a conversation about the hows of conceiving but why all the other related subjects being discussed increasingly? Oy veh, I was even more compulsive about being perfect as a pregnant Tereza than my usual do it all, all the time me. Yes there are many benefits from knowledge – one can learn and correct mistakes that women in generations before us made – resulting in healthier mothers and healthier babies. I think the problem, like so much of modernity, is that some become overwhelmed and the normal guilt that comes with wanting to be a good mother is multiplied many fold from the barrage of must dos being thrown at we women while gestating,

There is definitely an up side however …the new pregnancy Klout has definitely shown that we gals can do it all and do it well, even while being pregnant. For myself, the usual not pregnant lifestyle of good nutrition and exercise just translates with a few caveats during gestation. Appearance and beauty maintenance are the same, with the addition of pesky little extras needed like preventing stretch marks and such. We are not after all ill or sick – we are pregnant and we should insist on not being treated like infirmed patients.

Recently Marissa Mayer was named Yahoo CEO – youngest Fortune 500 CEO,  pretty and ambition but the OMG in the press is she is pregnant [due, G-d willing, to give birth to her first child/a son this Fall]. It seems the idea of a woman becoming head of a company is no longer terribly shocking or all that unique but being a pregnant executive gets a whole lot of press coverage. This 2012 London Olympics will include a nearly nine month pregnant Malaysian Shooter [there have been much less further along pregnant participants in the past]  – I often felt like an Olympiad on account of my schedule during gestation and indeed I was racing for the Gold most days. Because of my many responsibilities and daily financial, etc. meetings while pregnant I, at times, felt the insinuated awe and unspoken “You do all this and you are pregnant!”. Even my dearest and supportive gal pals expressed concern [out of love of course] that I was over doing it while pregnant – hoping [as will be the case] that if my husband and I decided to have our other frozen embryos born I would consider a gestational carrier. You see then I could go to meetings, write, workout, socialize safely – at least I think that was the logic behind their plea. Of course, in all fairness my age was of great concern to those who love me so well – but I hear the same questioning of women younger then myself but who like me have multiple roles and admittedly very busy full schedules.

All this focus on us 1% type women who multi task while gestating is flattering and reassuring but it makes me wonder about those pregnant women throughout history who struggled on farms, in fields, during wars and even today [for whatever reason] support their families alone while pregnant – how did they and some still do it? It must be acknowledged that many women died in childbirth in other centuries – there are still places in this world where even now maternal death rates are high. I frequently question how any of us got born prior to prenatal vitamins and pregnancy yoga classes and such. Don’t get me wrong, I insisted on all the bells and whistles – busy but pampered always my life motto. Not even c-section delivery would keep me from makeup and a hair blow out [you understand those first baby & mother photos last forever and I demand looking good for posterity]. The point I want to make is that having it all seems to becoming a must do and a further divide among the classes of women …I worry that those of us able to do it perfectly are alienating our sisters still struggling just to exist. Fortunately there are many private and community, as well as government programs that reach out to lower income and troubled pregnant girls and women. I believe we must make pregnancy not only an honored and important life stage but one treated as a health issue for a better society – the poor or uneducated mother will give birth to our fellow citizen and that woman’s maternal health will therefore affect us all.

I worried for quite some time that the admiration and kindness I received while visibly pregnant would too quickly dissipate after delivering my babies …you see I was kind of use to being a bit of a babe [well toned, etc] before pregnancy and then the Klout thing kicked in during gestation – what was going to be the situation after delivering and prior to getting my figure back?  Trust me – I was definitely the Pregnant In Heels [TV show] type – no over eating or hubby shirts for me. One kind of gets used to the “ah, you look so cute with that big belly” remarks and then folks are just thinking you let yourself go – that is if you are not carrying the little bundles around everywhere. For me, my many loved ones kept assuring me time would bring me back but I am no ones fool – personal trainer, nutritionist  and lipo were always my post pregnancy plan. After all, I am not only happily a REAL mother – I am a REAL woman wearing REALLY glamorous chic shoes –  hear me roar …shh, don’t wake the REAL babies!!!

P.S. For readers who know me or follow me – the REAL reference is an inside notation – soon to be litigated and definitely discussed fully in my book.

Leave a Reply

