Why Being Jewish Makes Me Untouchable Or Judaism 101 For Dummies!!!

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

Proud to be a Jew – Yes I am! For me, Judaism has provided a life template and has never failed as a force for my salvation. Of course, other faiths provide the same for their followers,  but for myself Judaism is the answer and my solution for a life well lived. I am the benefactor of my own Jewish religion’s philosophies but have also benefited greatly from the REAL Christian values of friends, extended family and colleagues. For my atheists and agnostic brethren … do not fret, I acknowledge that humanists can and are good, decent and caring. I also recognize and admit that religion has often been used for justification of war and mistreatment of others. What I write here is an expression of my own personal relationship to G-d that is guided and informed by Judaism. My hope is that ALL good, decent and worthwhile people who read this will be directed toward a spiritual life. The rest – those oft referenced  miscreants, evil doers, “cult” participants/false idol worshipers and usurpers can be punished by their own evil deeds, as G-d [and the legal system] sees fit.

Judaism 101 – a primer for Jew and Gentile alike offers a synopsis of why G-d chose us and gave we Jewish people the directive for monotheism. Like other groups, mine has members who both misunderstand and misuse the teachings of our faith … for to follow the path of Judaism is to lead a life of blessings and glory. As with much of my writing, I state here that there is no perfection – no life without struggle, missteps or failings. But there is – for me through Judaism – the chance and opportunity for a life full and blessed  with joyfulness.

My many hints and innuendos – the necessitated vagueness on account of ongoing. litigation plus more recent possible civil criminal [cyber crime] charges against those I refer to as the miscreants and my  book obligations: Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! again render me only able to share that there has been times of deep sorrow and often undeserved pain in my past. What I can share loud and clear is that without equivocation my entire life has been one blessed by G-d … never has there been a time when grace of faith has not saved me from tragedy. Yes there has been luck, hard work and happenstance that made a difference and somehow lead me to always a  glorious place in my life but as my husband has called me since we met and we recently trademarked, Tereza Triumphant™ is a child and benefactor of G-d.

I often tell gentiles that Judaism is not for the faint of heart … to practice well my faith is heavy lifting. Oy veh – do we have rules and must dos. Judaism has what I have deemed a definite lifestyle manual tone – there is a reason for and a suggestion about every aspect of life. No one – certainly not me – performs all exactly as Judaism instructs but for myself between daily prayer and ongoing study a continuous redirecting has never failed to get me to the best possible result. I am both informed and guided by the principle of my forefathers – Abraham, Moses, et.al. The women of the Bible – be it Ruth or Esther and the rest teach me what it means to be a good Jewish wife, mother and citizen. I often think of my brave gentile husband/father of my Jewish children, Chester Michael Eliasz-Solomon as a male Ruth who came as an outsider, converted to Judaism and begot King David [his great grandmother and hence is connected/as ancestor to the Messiah]. Ruth was a blessing to my people – much as my husband is in that he is devoted to myself, our children and my faith – my husband legally [January 2012] took my Jewish last name and as such his/our children who are being raised 100% Jewish are legally Solomons too.  A true gift in my life is that my Catholic husband keeps our homes 100%  kosher, observes Shabbot each week with me and fully participates in all Jewish holidays – but he is not singular in my life in that way as it is the same with my friends/extended non Jewish family in that they all respect and participate in my very Jewish life style.

There is, like so many other topics, a Judaism for Dummies book. I mention it not because I think most of you are too ignorant to understand my complicated and often erudite religion but because for Jew and gentile both – a path made simple and understandable can often be the bridge back to or further toward a life of faith. In this book is the pray my husband and I and G-d willing our children will repeat often and believe in fully … it is the prayer for celebrating by being present for something new:

Baruch Atah Adonai, Eloheynu Melech ha-olam, sheh-heh-chi-yanu v’key’manu v’hee-gee-anu laz’man ha-zeh.

Blessed are You, Eternal One our G-d, Universal Presence,

Who keeps us in Life always,

Who supports the unfolding of our uniqueness, and

Who brings us to this very moment for blessing.

 I end this post with this particular idea because as my husband and I have discovered, it is that our willingness to have eyes to see, hearts to feel and faith in G-d’s plan was the route to achieve all forms of success for us by being present. I gift it to ALL of you, no matter your chosen religion or lack thereof so they each of you, like me, can feel truly untouchable – never thwarted by evil, never deterred by miscreants and NEVER EVER defeated by evil!!!

Leave a Reply

