Ladies And Gentleman Welcome To The Debate – Oy Veh!

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

So exactly how old were you – what school grade included the learning of debate skills? In the more formal setting – we were actually involved in debates against other classmates that involved a structure that is centuries old – rules and protocol specific and detailed. Being erudite, well read and clever of course helped but equally important, we students were taught, is the form and adherence to the debate process … gone apparently are these guidelines from the political debate world today. Lights, camera, action now equals hyperbole, misrepresentation and stagecraft for our political campaign debates – no pure intellectual analysis apparently allowed nor included any longer. We find ourselves at a proverbial slippery slope scenario – information being filtered through extreme partisan participants most times and therefore leaving the electorate baffled and angry – disenfranchised populace the final tragic result I fear.

The Oxford Union – the iconic debate forum has set the standard for academics and others – guidelines that must be adhered to and respected. Yes formality can be daunting but also liberating by allowing one to function in an exacting way – formulating strategies that lead to success within boundaries predetermined can prove a WINNING strategy. Why then do our present day, very well formally [some Ivy League] educated political candidates not take full advantage of the REAL debate structure? Oh my, the answers are both obvious and plentiful … the most readily understood is they want to win and think hyperbole, bullying and merely being forceful will do just that. Well, we the voters/debate viewers are the REAL culprit – we hunger for the drama – rally behind the thug – champion the one who, no matter the lies told, seems to be the debate winner.

In my personal and professional life there are times [as I am sure you my dear readers/followers are quite aware of by now] where debate was not an option on account of the opposing team being so loathsome, ignorant, sub-par, delusional and lie spewing. In my last blog post, I made slight reference to one of those pest miscreants quite trashy mother-in-law suggesting he debates me – now mind you, I am very sure these types know nothing of REAL debate structure – after great belly laughs, myself, husband and colleagues were rendered stunned by the very idea that those of such low status could even be entertaining the notion of verbally challenging me – so it is seems to be similarly in our current political national life … those least valued attempting to outwit those most capable. What is one to do, when like I and my husband, the other side is without REAL moral structure or any REAL intellectual capacity? The answer is of course, as my very strong, wise and determined husband, Chester Michael Eliasz-Solomon,  says often – you must take your gloves off, virtually “slap” the opponent across their face and make it evident you will not tolerate/accept their lies – not debate a person who runs from their position/falsely states their ideas like the REAL cowards they are.

The answer is always truth – yes – REAL truth – not ever what others think they can profess and convince the world is true. As my husband and I insist on in our little dynasty – as should all REALLY good people, including worthy politicians – is to never allow the debate to be won by threats and falsehoods. President Obama did what I once did and will NEVER do again … in the first Romney-Obama debate 3 October 2012], Barack Obama allowed his opponent, Mitt Romney to misrepresent both his own position and equally President Obama’s. There was a time in my own life – which wonderful and brilliant advisers had guided me toward – that I too allowed those lesser to lie and determine what was valid. Needless to say that will NEVER happen again … so it is that all who follow this blog have been privy to my posture and that of my husband that insist all those will be challenged when they attempt to win the REAL debate through obfuscating lies and untruths. My husband has zero tolerance for Mitt Romney Etch-A-Sketch campaign style; in fact my husband is firm that my “team” never allow that from those challenging us – he and I have learned, as I want President Obama to as well, that one must NEVER allow the enemy to define the moment. I am privileged to know and be friends with White House types – elected officials and their support teams … many have heard me pontificate this life philosophy – now I hope and pray they will do as I do and thwart the enemies at the gate – do this as if life itself depended on it because it often REALLY does!!!

P.S. As I often do – I want to reference one of my very erudite, wise & clever Mother’s quips. When discussing the adage about not lying down with dogs, as one might get up with fleas … my Mother countered that a better choice is to wear flea  repellent, get down with/challenge the dogs and really WIN the argument. Of course, I feel badly even referencing dogs as my sweet pooch does not have fleas and she, Princess Java Argus, is of a much finer quality/has far better character than the miscreant pests hubby & I need to defeat as of late [oh yes, also must tell you that our Labrador is also much, much cuter/classier looking/more shall we say, regal than their canines – just saying]. Ok – much more of that REAL truth in my 2013 memoir, Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life!!!

Leave a Reply

