The Empatheia and Pathos of Super Bowl Sunday

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

Feb1T2 024The Greeks knew it well … as we do for American Football, they too experienced the conflicting feelings of empatheia and pathos. We love and hate the sport – wringing our hands at the violence and recently discussed REAL physical and lifelong – even fatal – occurrences that result from playing football. Drawn like the proverbial “moth to a flame“, we humans adore the rough and tumble competitive spirit that even dangerous activities present. I personally enjoy ALL sports … playing them, watching them and cheering players on. In previous blog posts I detailed REAL facts about how sports drew me to my husband and he to me, my own multiple sports activities, my hopes and demands that my children like and participate in sports of many kinds. The problem is I am quite aware of the danger – the unnecessary perils that a sport like football creates for its players and so I am conflicted. Still here I am preparing for Super Bowl Sunday 2013 watching and party time. What’s a erudite gal like moi to do – ok – right side/left side brain dilemma today. Lets talk about it – shall we???

A quite  complex and inter-connected Football History brings us to Super Bowl XLVII. Our current game can be traced back to early versions of Rugby Football and something titled Association Football – both originating in varieties played in Britain. The so called Father of American Football is Walter Camp. My favorite – college football grew in popularity and became the dominant American sport in the first half of the 20th century. Professional Football began in earnest during the year 1892. In 1920 the American Professional Football Association was formed – two years later the name was changed to the National Football League and then in 1960 its rival, the AFL [American Football league] was established. All this while the 20th century world experienced multiple wars, a Great Depression, leaders assassinated,  migrating families, societal upheavals and technological advancements that changed the entire world. Possibly the fact that a football game is a dependable seasonal “may the best guys win” event is one reason it stayed and grew while the world morphed and changed so drastically. No matter education, income level, race, religion, national origin nor locale – all Americans can sit and watch two football teams go for the goal –  a unified tonality for we the extremely diversified American populace.

Like so much in my REALLY interesting and REALLY unique life – I have only a few degrees of separation to this year’s Super Bowl. You see – probably know by now if you are my regular readers/follower that my husband, among so many other REAL accomplishments, is a recognized and widely admired genealogist  He is Catholic, I and our children Jewish – as such my husband decided a few years ago to add Jewish genealogy to his already well known Polish work. When we attended the Jewish conference in Philadelphia a few years ago, I took it upon myself to attend the lecture of and introduce myself to Stephen Morse, inventor of Intel chip and for sometime a renowned and very prolific Jewish genealogy expert. Since then my husband, Chester M. Eliasz-Solomon has spoken to and been at other conferences with Dr. Morse – most recently in Utah.  Well now – his colleague, the  Intel co-founder, Andy Grove wrote a book, Only the Paranoid Survive that the 49ers coach Jim Harbaugh is a huge fan. Wow – I was pleasantly surprised and impressed when I read that on 31 January 2013 in my daily Wall Street Journal.  Erudite brawn is always a plus – macho brain power a grand Aphrodite, even in the world of professional football.

So as I prepare to watch the 2013 Super Bowl – enjoy requisite fete with hubby and friends, I will be reminded during the much anticipated half-time show [and share with you in my planned memoir Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life!] why Beyonce and I have so much in common … wife, mother and insisting our men “put a ring on it” !!!

P.S. My stats hero, Nate Silver was not conclusive in today’s Sunday New York Times … oy veh – was hoping at least this genius could predict offense or defense would win the day this year – guess we just have to all stay tuned until the final touchdown.

2 Comments to “The Empatheia and Pathos of Super Bowl Sunday”

  1. The risk is inherent, but there is also risk in driving your car. You have to weigh that risk. Football is a major part of our culture. Curious, would you accept women playing football?

    • Agree – inherent risks everywhere – I do object to those other than college age or professional grown men playing football … In other words – no children. Yes – women can if so desired but that would change the tone of football for sure!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

