Nuremberg Laws REALLY Equal U.S.A. DOMA!!!

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

LadyJustice My “mixed” parents adored one another … odd coupling they were but amazing together. They were a heterosexual Jewish and gentile mix; my father Jewish and Mother of Albanian Muslim and Italian Catholic family – who later converted to Judaism, making me very Jewish [you know how converts become zealots and WOW was Mother a REAL Zionist]. They married after – here is the REALLY cute part – after my Jewish Father, walked into a Temple University Christmas dance and picked up my part Albanian Muslim Mother in the late 1930’s – sounds like one of those Rabbi and Priest walk into a bar jokes, doesn’t it? No joking here because despite the odds against this union, they married, had children, became business owners, grand and great grandparents, politically and socially active – spending the next fifty years being absolutely spectacular together.

As many of you who follow me or know me personally are aware of – my second husband [I was widowed at 21 years of marriage in 2001] legally took my last name of Solomon – Chester Michael Eliasz-Solomon, for among other reasons, wanted to honor my REALLY special parents by becoming a Solomon in January 2012 – quite a legacy I am sure you will all agree. Oh yes, let me mention here that my husband is Catholic, I am an observant Jew and we agreed to raise our children Jewish, keep homes Kosher and respect both faiths at all times.

Now you ask – what does this lovely family biography have to do with U.S. DOMA  – the rights for ALL Americans to marry? You probably know already that I am very willing to tell you – so sit back and prepare to do the OMG stuff because I assure you that my words will inform you as to why REAL marriage equality for everyone in this great nation is the only REAL solution and the only REAL faith based option.

Berlin in the winter of 1943 was the witness to a non violent demonstration that has come to be known as the Rosenstrasse Protest. This effort by the non-Jewish [“Aryan“] wives and in law relatives of Jewish men who were arrested and being deported on account of being married to gentile women was only part of the experiences that so called “mixed” couples were dealing with in Nazi Germany. Prior to this in 1935 at a Nuremberg rally, the Nazi party announced laws – yes REALLY , government administrated, legal and formalized Court stipulated dictates – stating that Jews could not marry nor have children with gentile German citizens. Here in the great United States of America we had Anti-Miscegenation Laws that segregated who could marry according to race – legal in some states until 1967. I know what you are thinking: “Oh no – surely, these horrible situations are not comparable to not allowing gay people to legally marry in U.S.A.!” – really I say in response – it is the same I assure you because civil laws are not to be subjugated to anyone’s prejudice and if they are, then you have Nazi rule or segregated pre-civil rights law America. On Tuesday 26 March 2013 the United States Supreme Court began hearing Hollingsworth v. Perry – they will need to decide if this great nation continues to deny equal marriage rights to all our citizens or do we follow REAL precedence law already decided and make equal REALLY mean equal once and for all. In 1954, which many have heard and seen my reference in this blog was what my civil rights activist Father, Abraham H. Solomon thought to be a REALLY good year … you see I, his long wanted only daughter was born that year on his March 5th birthday and Brown v. Board of Education was decided correctly in his opinion. Yes indeed – that is my unique family tonality – my birth and a civil rights SCOTUS decision on par – I love it. Anyway, that legal case decided once and for all time that separate is NOT equal in this country and so today asking that we allow gay citizens only civil unions and not full marriage rights is a legal affront and a waste of valuable time and money. To this point, I can not fully express my shock – despite thinking myself well informed on such matters – when I learned in a Villanova Law class that sexual preference is not a “protected class” in this nation … why dear G-d should a thing like being a part of LGBT community be any less a right than faith or race? Do NOT give me that bogus argument that sexual preference is a “choice” and religion and race is not. Does not one decide to be a certain religion? Indeed if you profess that sexual orientation is a choice, then religious prejudice is not illegal and if like myself, you agree it is akin to race in that you are born that way – well then my dear readers, we agree – no choice and hence needs to have full protection under the laws of this land.

So now – lets just all calm down and allow ALL Americans REALLY equal rights to marry, divorce, fight over custody of the children and all that REALLY fun stuff. If I am to appeal to your softer selves – a bit of tugging at your heart strings – please learn about the Love couple of Virginia [see Loving v. Virginia] … this black woman and white man were arrested and sentenced to a year in jail for being married because even in the 1960’s some in our nation thought that was a crime. In my memoir, Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! I REALLY will share each and every REAL fact about why issues concerning freedom of all sorts tugs at my heart strings, occupies my thoughts and motivates me to speak out so often. In the mean while, we supporting equal marriage assure all of you that no religious institution – not my synagogue, your church or mosque will ever be forced to marry same sex couples – only City Hall will be sharing in these REALLY joyous occasions!!!

One Comment to “Nuremberg Laws REALLY Equal U.S.A. DOMA!!!”

  1. You don’t think of marriage that way, but it is a slippery slope if you ban one type of marriage. Now we know with DNA we are not that different and we have found through history, love pokes through the rules. No one would make such rules otherwise; it would be like Nike, Just Do It!

Leave a Reply

