Sex Essentials or How I am REALLY Carrie, Miranda, Charlotte AND Samantha!

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

SATCJust this past 5 March 2013 – on my 59th birthday, along with other lovely surprises seen here in this photo, I was gifted the entire Sex & the City DVD set. This television series collection arrived in a lovely pink suede cover box and I was thrilled. Never being a steady TV viewer and having no time, inclination nor patience to routinely watch serial shows – I did not see this iconic and groundbreaking series on a regular basis when shown on HBO. I did catch a few segments, saw the movies and certainly read loads about it – always thinking it honest, marvelous and REALLY worthwhile entertainment. Anyway, as a blogger and soon to be published author + plans to be at least part time NYC resident soon – many gals in ,my life thought it about time Teréza came into the S&C club. Besides, I adore Sarah Jessica Parker and believe me when I tell you her and I REALLY have much in common. Those similarities will be fully detailed in my year end (2103) memoir, Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! For now, lets just say it is more than we both own multiple pairs of designers shoes.

Anyway, back to the Box Set S&C moi received as a birthday gift … at the end there are bonus discs and one it titled “Sex Essentials“. Well what was I to think – hmm … possibly a tutorial on that great pleasurable life activity, perhaps suggestions on hows and wheres to enjoy such delights or could it just be a synopsis of the multiple #@%* – got you thinking orgasms, right? No – none of those but instead a lovely retrospective on each of the four characters. The tonality was that each of the four ladies while sharing NYC and one another as friends, were distinctive and separate – very individual types. I say not – for me each was 1/4 of a whole. Yes indeed – we REAL women encompass  Carrie, Miranda, Charlotte AND [G-d willing] a hell of a lot of Samantha. If you follow me regularly or definitely if you know me personally, without a doubt you are thinking, “Teréza is going to explain this for sure!”. Your right – her goes ladies and gents who REALLY love us – my take on my four parted REAL self and others who like me want to REALLY have it all!

OK folks – lets begin with Miranda. I too study law …  hoping to finish soon and I can honestly say that I took to the tomes of jurisprudence like the proverbial “fish takes to water“.  Like Miranda I sit at the head of the meeting – in charge and never the lesser on account of my gender. Also similar is that I am not afraid to be successful – not timid nor fearful that my abilities in the board room will lessen my attractiveness in the bedroom. Fortunately for me and her (later in the series) the REALLY right man is my life partner … both my first husband from whom I was widowed in 2001 and my REALLY feminist second hubby [who you must all know by now legally took my last name/has our children do the same] who I married in 2003 never seemed threatened by  – in fact both promoted – my achievements and goals. I must firmly state that I have been particularly blessed and abundantly so with REALLY supportive men all my life. My dear Father, husbands, best and other guy friends, colleagues and advisers – all – each and every one of these men are amazingly supportive and even protective of my ambitions in life. Now don’t get me wrong – there have been a few misogynistic loser type males I have needed to put in their bottom dwelling place. Why surely most of you have by now read my mention of the male parts of THE REAL Evil Doers Club™  hubby and I suing, etc.. Now those are REAL schmucks – trust me about this and one of them is almost miniature in size – I mean height or maybe both his @#%* and height. Oh who knows – just that these are not REAL men – know what I mean?

Now onto dear sweet Charlotte. In fact I too have my REALLY preppy and conservative sides. I ride horses, play tennis in whites, golf, sail, fly fish and here is another big similarity –  my first dear hubby, David Colin was a WASP. Yes, he was so much so that I had my walk in closet in our home having one whole section filled with duck, horses and tasteful plaid attire. My dear husband who I married at the young age of 26 [he was almost 10 years older], converted to Judaism for me. His family embraced me and mine him. Fortunately my REALLY cultured parents and my in-laws. despite ethnic and religious differences, shared quite similar sensibilities – art, theater, travel and such. What else Charlotte and I have in common is my being a bit “prudish” – not within the realm of marriage but unlike the other ladies I and Charlotte never wanted the, shall we say “serial monogamy” life style. No – marriage was my choice … G-d I have been married almost all my adult life. Always say – admit readily that even though I do not think it would have been something I could have enjoyed, there never was the a REAL opportunity for the single gal bar pick up time in my life – never being REALLY single. I do not condemn nor judge badly other ladies who sought that venue … why not be open about wanting sex, if guys do it all the time? For me – neither sex looks REALLY happy bed hopping and so in that way I am very much like Charlotte. Besides she becomes a Jew near the end of the series  – so that too is a shared likeness between us. One more REALLY shocking to some who think they know me is sameness for her and I in that I am very domestic. Even though not always  a necessity – I can cook, bake and all the other homey stuff. I am a great caretaker type – family and friends know I am the one that will not be squeamish in my tasks should they need attention. Proud to say I am quite a maternal woman and I find that most women are too. By the way, even though not on a Martha Stewart level to be sure, I have been known to glitter a poster or two for the children and more REALLY crafty stuff. So there.

We have come to “hot time in the city” Samantha – who apparently she is mine and most of my gal pal’s husband’s favorite S&C lady. Wonder why? No I don’t actually. Now here I suggest what you readers might think counter intuitive for I just told you that I share a bit of “prudishness” with Charlotte. You are wrong my darlings because I am anything but that in my married life. One of the reasons I REALLY love being married is that my one and only and I are each others fantasy mate. Monogamy for me equals completeness and the safety to be all I can be to just one man – my husband. Nothing wrong with being full out Samantha sex obsessed with just the right guy – my husband, Chester M. Eliasz-Solomon is the lover I always dreamed of and he is my only fantasy. Like Samantha my mind drifts to us together when I hear just the right song, smell a certain scent or have a suggestive thought. I like to say that my parents raised a REALLY healthy woman and it is biblical [my old testament that is] intoned that within the sanctity of marriage, passion is to be a blessed by G-d event. Besides why would I deny myself one of the most exciting and earthly pleasures when the ring on my finger says I am entitled to full out love making with my hubby. Yes Samantha and I agree – it is my right to be a REALLY satisfied woman. It is on my terms and it is great to be sexual – after all nature made us that way. Right? Samantha and I are also career oriented  – along with not thinking a man is the answer to all things or the only way to happiness. Again you must be thinking that I state opposite ideals – no, no, no I tell you for if I had not found the REALLY right guys to marry, then a single life would have been an equally happy and fulfilling choice for me. See Samantha and I agree on many things – well just not that multiple partner stuff but multiple other things for sure.

Finally, my writing doppelganger Carrie Bradshaw. Oh my – she is REALLY me and I too married [as she does in the first S&C movie] Mr. Big.  Some similarities are almost too obvious to state – of course that will not stop me. We both write – her a column – me a blog and likewise, each of us got a REAL book deal – make that multiple book deals [there goes that word again]. We both REALLY love and wear REAL designer couture shoes and clothes – and we both REALLY, REALLY, REALLY have great friends. On the friends issue, I wrote a blog titled Goddess Crew™ [26 August 2012]. The reason hubby and I trademarked that phrase is because for years I called my most wonderful, spectacular, loyal girlfriends that and then a few years ago, one of my L.A. advisers suggested we trademark it before my book was published [after all we all knew The Miscreants™ are thievery types – trust me they are being sued, along with for other reasons, copyright infringement]. To me all REALLY good women are goddesses – taking care of others, working tirelessly for family, careers and bread winner task, along with so much more – I REALLY worship these types of women and hence think them goddesses. Like Carrie I think of my close female friends as soul mates – they are my always there people,  who know EVERYTHING and we love, support and guide one another. We defend each other against all enemies – no task of helping each other thought to be too large and always with REAL respect. There is nothing and I mean absolutely nothing that is out of the question for us of the Goddess Crew™ in relationship to staying the course of REAL friendship. Another blessing are the women who have come into my life unexpectedly – through groups, school, professional situations and from meeting through social media sites. That’s right – some of my dearest lady friends were gotten on account of a serendipitous meeting via Facebook and Twitter and such. I REALLY love women friends – just like Carrie – the ladies are my home base and I am thrilled to be theirs. Another blog post I wrote was Why All REAL Women Are Carrie Bradshaw!!! [10 October 2012] and this my dear readers says so much about how all REALLY good women are her. The scene that post references shows Carrie being “fashion road kill” and yes my much beloved and admired NYT columnist Frank Rich is in the audience when our darling falls down on the runway. An Oy Veh moment for sure but Carrie gets right back up and says,”When REAL people fall down, they get back up and [just] keep on walking.“. No better advise was ever given – not by me and not by Carrie Bradshaw!

So to conclude – I am REALLY proud to tell you that I have grown into a finely integrated 4 part woman. Each of us gals can and should be part of  an eclectic, hard to define and multi-faceted combined Miranda, Charlotte, Samantha and Carrie. Be one or be all these types of women but no matter to what extent you embrace their style – be your REAL self, no  matter what the rest of the world attempts to define you as being. You my darling ladies are each REALLY beautifully unique and I for one adore you!!!

P.S. In my year end memoir – my REALLY odd connection to the actress Kim Cattrell, who plays Samantha in the S&C series and movies will be shared. It is a REAL life OMG  situation – for now, it is titillating enough to inform you that she and I REALLY shared a venue – stay tuned for that juicy and interesting tidbit!!!

Leave a Reply

