Art as Sports Metaphor or Vice Versa

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

One must always be careful
not to let one’s work be covered with moss.”

Marc Chagall

Art as sportsOne need have eyes to see, heart and soul to feel and an intelligent, open mind to comprehend – this is what I believe both art and sports demand of we the viewer, participant and consumer. Oh my, it has been a few week of horrors here in the United States and in many parts of the world this April 2013 and yet I found bliss in reading articles and attending – making plans and arrangements for coming exhibitions – art venues. Equally comforting was sports – reading about, viewing and definitely in the doing. As this Marc Chagall quotes suggest, we humans must not let the moss cover our work – be that which we create or do each day. Constant vigilance to not becoming complacent must rule the day in the face of all that confronts us and so with both art and sports there lies the chance to play in the game of life. The ancient Greeks produced many works of art that depict sports as a glorified life activity – surely that is a telling instruct that both disciplines elevate the human existence.

I was raised in a very eclectic family … busy, busy, busy bees were we – no  possibilities nor opportunities left to chance. As some of my other blog post explain no matter whether talented or championed in an activity, there was still value in the attempts and enjoyment in pursuit. So too with art and sports – guided toward giving all a try and to never deny ourselves the pleasure just because the struggle might be daunting. As such, I have and insist my children do as well, take full advantage of venues that allow participation and viewing in both the artistic and athletic worlds. In our REAL family and among many friends, careers in the arts have developed. I was fortunate to grow up – have as my best girl friends two sisters, more family in fact, that were talented artist … I was often the younger ones muse and proudly still display in my homes the works that I modeled for as her youthful accomplice. There are cousins who work in the fields of art and many friends who do likewise. Visiting museums all over the world has been one of my life pleasures and my husband and I subscribe to and attend both Sotheby’s and Christie’s auctions regularly. Why list all this for you my dear readers?  My reason is to suggest that like much in life, art is as sports – one needs to receive the pass to enjoy the pitch. Wow – a metaphoric directive indeed but only that which I truly believe important.

Growing up in Philadelphia allowed me to wonder the halls of many museums. In  fact, my previously mentioned young best gal pal and I as young teens made art museums our regular haunts – often we would wonder the floors of well known establishments, like the Philadelphia Art Museum and less famous, smaller off the beaten path places. I fondly remember our pretending to be that or another grand lady or fictional character in accordance with the art displayed and years later this same friend and I spent time in Switzerland and France going museum to museum large and small. A poignant aside is that in our early 20’s it was at this lifelong friend’s Painted Bride Philadelphia Art Show that I met my first [late] husband and of course, both she and her dear now deceased older sister were my bridesmaids less than one year later. My precious friend – a REAL artist who graduated University with Art Degrees and myself, with no such talents, equaled in enjoyment these shared art oriented activities. I believe my being able to do so was on account of being open to receiving that presented. How much of life can be defined by just such a sports metaphor – I think a great deal of what we humans define as missed or denied, is only those things we were not readied for or willing to accept as possibilities in our life. Far too often we hear people say, “Oh I am not good at that!” or  “That is just not for me!” – sad really as that then suggest the purview of much is only for the few.

Thrilling in my life is having the opportunity to go to many art events – well known and obscure, peruse catalogs and shops for purchases. Just as wonderful is going to a sports event – not always understanding either the game nor creation has ever caused a detour from my wanting to be there. No indeed, I feel a rightful place among those more skilled or learned. All should have the same confidence that expertise not a requirement for attendance at any event or occasion. Of course, pretense is not needed either – only simple awareness that all created is open to each of us, as long as respect is observed. I got the idea for this post when reading about and planning to visit exhibits of whom I consider a “life environment” artist, James Turrell. My husband and I hoping one day to have one of his light installation pieces in one of our homes, I decided to set out a plan for us to see one of his soon to be three museum shows. In my research I found him saying that which I always believed true, “Art is a completed pass. You don’t just throw it out into the world – someone has to catch it.“. Thrilling to me how exacting that statement is and not only for art or sports but for every single aspect of REAL living. In my memoir, Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! so much of what I hope to have my readers learn is that I REALLY knew how to catch those life opportunities – the passes thrown my way and how others can and should too!

Note: As I am sure my followers/readers have noticed by now, I use REAL and REALLY frequently in my post … that is, of course, deliberate and meant to be a pointed reference – one might say a hint aimed at those I reference so often as my husband and my nemesis. All will be clear in my book and accompanying interviews but for now, please know it is not without REAL reason that I denote much that way!!!

2 Responses to “Art as Sports Metaphor or Vice Versa”

  1. Dad loves football!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

