The Grateful Wedding Guest

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)
TheWedding

Curly, full, straight or up?”  I asked my darling long time friend and brilliant hairdresser, Marina. Dressed and ready to attend the wedding of goddess gal pal Connie R. and her wonderful fiance Mike G., I left to get to the church on time. Yes,  me, a  Jewish lady spends a great deal of time seeing friends and colleagues wed in Churches – the gift of having been blessed with diverse groups in my life. So it was that I was, along with other invited wedding guests, witness to the joining of a man and a woman who waited many years to find a REAL soul mate. Grateful to be included at this lovely and intimate event, I prayed, I danced, I ate and I rejoiced to see my friend in the place of oneness with her chosen partner – which is how I, myself with my own husband, get to live happily with each day. The history of marriage throughout humanity is long and complex – still all the intonations of this union are based on betterment not only for the couple but equally for the society in which they dwell. When, why, how marriage became the foundation union of our species says much about its value – I want to share a few reasons that my heart and mind know marriage is not to be denied anyone who seeks it.

The wedding is a primeval and continuously observed human ritual … the unification of a man and woman in a joined acknowledgement of a higher being dates back to first written history. Morphing, changing and often accommodating to mores of society has produced many attenuated and varied wedding ceremonies around the globe. At the start and through the Middle Ages all that was needed is for the man and woman to state before community and family their intent to be married – no real contractual documentation required. In my own faith of Judaism, many marriage rituals are recorded as having begun and been well established in Biblical times – those also changing and developing into new forms in the Middle Ages and more so in the 19th century. Jewish marriage – like much in my faith – has REAL and specific rules and protection clauses – one might saw legal dictates, as instruction for this ritual. Christian weddings are mentioned in gospel recounting of their Messiah’s time among the people. Other cultures, nations and communities throughout written history describe practices and processes for the permanent relationship of two people in marital bonds. The celebratory aspect no doubt grew and changed in accordance with customs and desires of those involved. Grandeur, pomp and circumstance once only the purview of wealthy and well placed, came to be common place and even expected among all peoples entering into matrimony. In my opinion no one should be denied the legal right to marry and carry on the traditional sacredness that such a possibility allows – we make better the entirety of our world when two consenting adults make it REAL and known that they are united in effort to make a life worthy of recognition.

As I wrote in previous blog posts, my friends who married yesterday have gone through ordeals; likewise, these two generous individuals stood by myself and my husband through our own burdens, as we did them. To be invited – so honored to be in attendance as these kind and loving people, Mike and Connie became husband and wife, was a REAL privilege. Made more special in that they limited those present to bear witness at this ceremony … as those throughout history have done, I as a grateful wedding guest expressed praise to G-d and joyfulness watching the ultimate commitment of married life begin for Mr. & Mrs. G.!!!

P.S. In my year end memoir, Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! there will be much to share about my own wonderful REALLY amazing marriage, as well as, how my brilliant genealogist husband, Chester Michael Eliasz-Solomon, makes use of marriage records in many languages for his work – quite interesting, I assure you!

2 Responses to “The Grateful Wedding Guest”

  1. I had the same feeling @ the wedding Elaine and I attended. I knew everyone @ our table and we had some great laughs.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

