Why I Hope Eric Cantor Converts!

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

Eric-CantorOy Veh  … Dear G-d” is my usual reaction when Republican Virginia Congressman and House Majority Leader, Eric Cantor gets to pontificating. He, like myself, is Jewish and when he speaks I cringe – for Cantor is so not of the standard ilk that defines our Liberal progressive tribes. This past week has presented Cantor and company, especially Speaker of the House John Boehner with plenty of opportunity to bellow their faux concerns about issues of press freedom, IRS over reach and foreign relations. Yes indeed,  here we go – puffery and preening abound as the GOP protest the Obama Administration handling of various crisis situations, as well as, day to day governance issues. For me, Cantor, is a personal issue – when he proposes programs that are antithetical to Judaism tenets I feel REAL concern. Of course, we Jews have every right to be members of either or no political party – however, the REAL fact is that as a whole being Democrats suits our philosophy the best. Discuss I will on the whys and the hows my people. despite being so successful, still feel more kin to those struggling than others in our nation. A little guilt perhaps or as I frequently suggest, a REAL sense of remembering where we have been or could be again … you know, them today, us tomorrow scenario at play.

Surely the situations most recently causing Cantor and the other GOP operatives to go nearly mad are to be examined and reviewed. The oddity is that IRS intrusion into people and organizations is a Liberal preoccupation, so are issues like AP reporters having phone logs subpoenas and most definitely is the idea that an administration delineated facts on subject of national security like the Benghazi attack that resulted in our U.S. Ambassador and other Americans deaths. Think about it – the controversial news stories we are currently discussing are nearly identical to those the left side of the political isle fretted over during the eight year Bush Administration. When I read or hear a Jewish man like Eric Cantor attempt analytic compensatory explanations condemning President Obama, there is much hand wringing for me as I feel his insincerity defining the moment. No REAL logic or scholarship is presented to support why anyone, especially a person who studied Talmudic justice, could profess ideas of so little realistic consequences. See why I am embarrassed that me and Eric share a faith? I worry that when an American Jewish politician joins in with the extremist either left or right side, they take the risk of alienating the entire nation from support of our minority and more importantly of Israel. We  Jews have been scapegoats before in many countries and we could very well be again here if things go badly on the suggestive policies of Eric Cantor’s current extremist GOP Tea Party group.

Anyway, I have left many messages on Eric Cantor’s office voice mail … more Jewish Mother in tone , than outraged citizen. My message something like, “How could you say such a thing or vote that way when you are Jewish?” No I do not think all my people re perfect but I do want them to carry the banner of our glorious faith – our singular and original template of REAL justice for all the world. In the book, Why Jews Are Liberal? much is made of the REAL fact that we being so financially accomplished oft times vote against our own best interest – true in even our championing groups that are not our natural allies has come to not REAL benefit for we Jews. Still we proceed in a manner befitting our uniqueness in this world and for that I remain proud. In my year end memoir, Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! I will share many REAL facts on my own background and family involvement in politics and social causes that defined us as Liberal – maybe Eric Cantor will read it and come back to the fold or maybe he will convert – nu?

One Comment to “Why I Hope Eric Cantor Converts!”

  1. I hate to be a fly in the ointment, but you aren’t going to convert Eric Cantor, LOL! He was mentored by all sorts of Virginia politicians from the Richmond suburbs. I know the area. I lived in Southern Virginia for four years.

Leave a Reply

