Last Minutes That Matter Most!

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

From the standpoint of eternity, there is hardly any difference between a “long” and a “short” life. Therefore, it’s not whether one’s life is long or short, but how one lives that is important. It is what we accomplish, the degree to which we develop our state of life, the number of people we help become happy—that is what matters.

— Daisaku Tkeda

Last moment blog photoMy life has been amazing – full of the most serendipitous blessings. So much so that my book publisher suggests that unlike other clients, my life REALLY is too full and interesting to accurately describe on the written page – at least too complex to contain in one book. For my publicist and other REAL advisers,  my  magnificently  busy  life  means “Oy Veh” type of much work to do in order to continue directing me toward a safe and happy place. As referenced in many of my previous blog posts, I have had much to be grateful for in life … many times it was material wealth, REAL love and friendship, experiences of travel and such. More important is the REAL and true connection to other people – the moments of tenderness and support, as well as, gaiety and joy. Sure much is made of almost “new age” feelings – blah, blah, blah for your fellow man but my words here are intended to invoke a REAL sense of worth in relationship to those minutes where the glory of ones existence is felt down to the core of your being.

I have shared in prior posts the multiple friendships G-d has blessed me with – the gal pals there through thick and thin – the guys who support me and I them through trial and tribulation. So grand are my relationships that I often feel almost other worldly and an almost divine presence in the magnificence of those in my life. Of course, there are the ups and downs – the lessening at times on account of this or that perceived – or should I say – misconceived – grievance. Still never am I without REAL glorified human companionship – no never – not a day has gone by since I can remember that one or more persons has not rallied to my defense or been there to guide and attend to my needs. Now mind you, this scenario has also included those who should have been there, suddenly been missing in action for one or another reason … still just when I felt daunted, another amazing person comes to be my salvation. An embarrassment of riches is mine in relationship categories – I am humbled before the L-rd with REAL and deep gratitude.

An openness and willingness to embrace those worthy of effort is paramount to expanding ones life circle. Equally important is being committed to REALLY helping those in your life – possibly even sacrificing at times in order to make good that which is bad in another’s life. If you read me regularly or certainly know me personally, then you are aware of those my dear husband and I have needed to battle against – on social media and in Court. These faux individuals who like many you probably know could never know REAL friendship nor have REALLY worthy relationships – they lie to others and to themselves over and over again. No my dear readers, a relationship based singularly on a means to attack a third party is both without quality and unhealthy [at best].  Sharing of REAL time and wealth makes for a solid base to grow, G-d willing, a life long bond – that which will sustain and bring both sustenance and REAL happiness throughout your lifetime. For me it has been multi layered  … even including folks I met through social media that not only became REAL friends but took it upon themselves to protect and shield me from enemies and interlopers. I told you mine is a almost other worldly life full of such gloried relationships – yes I tell you even casual social media acquaintanceship have rallied in my defense – many to go on to be [now] close friends. Lucky me I say and yet it is because I had – as my dear late wise Mother instructed – the eyes to see and open mind to know who was for me. My equally wise Father taught that a relationship is like a savings accounts with joint ownership .. at times one or the other deposits and at other times each or both make withdrawals and then there are those times when the process is unequal but still maintained.

The title of this post is “Last Minutes”  – I choose those words because for many years that was how I explained to those dear to me and the children in my life as a tutorial what is to be optimally the, shall we say, end game in life. Now I do not mean the feel good pop culture mantra “if only I spent more time ___, than at the office” cult like diatribe  Nope – I mean that along with all the other wonderful life experiences and achievements, you and I must attend well to the people in our life for in those last moments that is what will be of REAL meaning. So now to how I see the end game scenario – just this past week, I shared with two recent additional most amazing new friend colleagues in my life, as I have in the past with others, my life philosophy concerning this matter. It is that if G-d is so gracious to grant me a moment or two as I leave this life in order to contemplate my journey here, it will without doubt be thoughts of those I have loved – husband, children, friends, colleagues  – even pets and likewise of those singular moments when someone saved me – when a person in my life made that which was wrong and hurting, better and manageable. Those touches, words, gestures that inspired and comforted me in life will be that which is my last thought if I am lucky. If you are not religious nor believe in G-d’s REAL presence, as I do, then simply try to use REAL gratitude to define what your last conscious remembrance will and should be. I REALLY believe that if we live each and every day with that thought in mind, REAL value will define the day to day of living !!!

P.S. In my memoir, Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! I will share REAL details and names, places times of those persons and circumstances worth a “last minute” remembrance – for now, you know who you are  – at least I hope you do as I try to let each of you, in some way, know that is how grateful I REALLY am for your presence in my life, plus my promise to work each and every day to make your lives better too for my being in yours !!!

Leave a Reply

