Hedge Your Funds Baby!

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

wall street blog babyCould it simply be a case of gestational status depreciation, an arbitrage suckling shrinkage scenario or short sell C-section causing the problems? Hmm, what you ask am I talking about now? Well my darling readers, nonsense is the REAL answer but apparently some males think those Wall Street financial world activities can not adequately occur when we females have children. Seriously weird for anyone to REALLY believe that is probably what you are thinking  … are you joking Tereza? No, I am afraid not because this past week Mr. Paul Tudor Jones, a  billionaire hedge funder, declared that once we women have babies that pretty much will end advancement in financial world careers on account of that natural life occurrence being  the causation for the lessening of ambitions. Now never mind the CEO/CFO females running major corporations who are Mothers – nope, damn the evidence to the contrary because Mr. Jones was not  using empirical facts but instead only his own personal antiquated misogynistic and dangerous precepts against my gender. Well – you just know I have a personal message for this schmuck – here goes:

Note to Mr. Jones … you can just go ‘whatever’ yourself because it is a REAL fact that I prevailed while gestating, mothering, etc. – in ALL areas, including financial and legal matters of great importance; grant it I have the most amazing men in my life as support (women too) but sweetheart [you don’t mind if I refer to you that way – right?] it was me putting my designer shoe attired feet, one in front of the other, to get things done. I would love to have you meet me in person to discuss this further – you Sir will recognize me because it is I, not you, that display REAL self confidence!!!”

Sincerely, Tereza Eliasz-Solomon

Ok- now that I have stated my REAL opinion – here are some REAL and salient facts, statistics and narratives about women in the financial industry. In 2009 the “Women of Wall Street” were added  to the American Finance Museum as an exhibit denoting those females of monumental importance. One of my and my late Mother’s favorite women in finance, included in this event and currently a very important presence at Goldman Sachs, is Abby Joseph Cohen – a wife and Mother herself. There are many females who control and design products that move and change the world economy – some have children and some don’t but why the hell any man would believe for a minute that giving birth – which female world leaders have done for centuries – would lessen our ambition is illogical and insulting at best. Every year Harvard University graduates women with MBA degrees and the iconic Wharton School of Business in my beloved hometown of Philadelphia likewise – there are other similar programs doing exactly the same across this nation and around the world. It is obvious that in just the act of graduating these women are therefore well versed in economics and finance … many already Mothers I am sure. Statistically it thus becomes an impossibility that child birth renders females less ambitious – simply on account of so many having completed scholarship and subsequent work product in that field while and after becoming Mothers.

I wonder if men like Jones actually believe that biology is destiny – is it the physical act of birthing being suggested as reasoning for us gals being thought then less capable? Surely men becoming parents equals they too having divided attentive energies as being a Father brings great responsibility and necessitated strength, fore thought and a directed consciousness that one could claim also lessens focus for work issues. Is it being suggested that the mere act of being a parent proves too divisive a chore to any longer address career responsibilities? Hence the very act of going from without child to parental status renders a professional less worthy in the opinion of hedge funder Jones and his like minded compatriots. Seems simple then – only childless forever folks need apply for the most powerful position in society … guffaw  and belly laughs insert here. See – it makes no REAL sense that giving birth, adopting or as I have been blessed with, being in a marriage where parenting is a REALLY equal full time position for myself and my husband, which creates a opportunity for both of us to be creative, successful and REALLY ambitious. No matter the structure of a women’s child bearing and raising situation, her employment should not be affected intrinsically or by others … yes ladies, we too need to not let being Moms get in the way of our work product – that is no more so than the Father of four children, Paul Tudor Jones, did with his!

P.S. In my REALLY soon tell ALL  memoir, Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! the REAL and quite amazing details of how I actually manged to, as the saying goes, have it all – or least attempt to -will be shared. Want you to know it takes hard work, some luck and a great deal of faith  – plus, having the REALLY greatest people surrounding you – to get to that place where it is all doable to at least some extent. For now, I want to thank ALL the supportive and REALLY secure men in my life … these great and talented men who never hesitate to help me be better and who, like my feminist husband – who legally took my last name and agreed to have our children do the same – are REALLY secure and strong enough to never be threatened by any woman’s success. In fact, the men in my life champion and promote my achievements and they are intuitive enough to realize we then can be each others REAL heroes. I love you guys and am eternally grateful for your presence in my life – you each “had me [impressed] at hello” !

Leave a Reply

