Abraham Marches on D.C. !

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

50thAnnMarch

Wake up Dear – father needs to speak with you“,  was how I was awoken in the dark to see my father, Abraham H. Solomon, sitting on the side chair near my bed late  August 1963. Fifty years ago this month my civil rights activist father wanted me to know that he was leaving our Philadelphia home to join Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.   for the 1963 March on Washington D.C. .  Being very close to my father,  I asked if I could come along and became concerned when the response was ‘no’  as father felt these were troubling times and he could not assure my safety. We shared a prayer and bid farewell – even at nine I knew my father needed to leave to pursue with others justice for those suffering and I was proud.

Well now, that day was not REALLY unique in the Solomon household – father having gone to other such demonstrations, etc. .  Often the infamous and famous sat at our dinner table in deep and serious discussion concerning important national and international topics relevant to the day”s news – frequently involving the pressing civil rights of this nation”s minority community. As a Jewish American family there was always the imperative impetus to further rights of other minorities and those oppressed. My Father always walked the walk so to speak – Abraham H. Solomon supported the  NAACP,   Voting Rights Act of 1965  and more. His legacy leaves we his family proud and enlightened … each of us continually striving to be just a small fraction of the great, moral and decent REAL man he was.

When I campaigned for Barack Obama the first [and second] time I knew and others close to me realized that I felt it my duty to fulfill my father”s REAL destiny by seeing an African American reach the highest office in this land. Actually, my husband shared that many of our dear family, friends and colleagues told him they fretted over my feelings should we have lost the 2008 Presidential election. Yes that is how deeply I felt communication with and responsibility to my late father – knowing this was REALLY the right thing for America.

 Free at last, free at last, thank G-d almighty …

— I Have A Dream Speech

Those words are not yet a fully realized ideal,  but that iconic historic speech is finally becoming a truly achievable possibility – this I promise my father, Abraham who is still dearly loved and always missed by many!

P.S. I am proud to have been invited to the 50th March on D.C. Anniversary, 24 August 2013. There will be more about that in my soon memoir, Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! and even further detailed in the the follow up, Life Journey of Heiress Mommy! Another important topic in my two books will be why [only] one reason my wonderful husband decided to legally take my last name and agree our children do the same was his being REALLY impressed by my parents and honored to carry their name forever – trust me, they are equally proud to have him and our children be Solomons !

2 Responses to “Abraham Marches on D.C. !”

  1. Wonderful – now we know where your voice truly comes from.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

