Labor Day 2013

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

 LaborDay” …  Hungry people eating the stuff they raised, living in the houses they built, I’ll be there too …” says Henry Fonda near the end of the film Grapes of Wrath. On nearly every Labor Day growing up my late father and I read and discussed this iconic and historic book, as well as often watching the film together. I have written in other blog essays that I am the proud daughter of a successful business man who was also a union organizer – yes my dear readers, one can indeed be both.

The recent anti-union vitriol in this nation in nothing more than a political attempt to sway into action one group of Americans against another. The REAL and true economic fact is that organized labor has raised the standard of living for us all. History teaches well that companies responded to the pressing demands of unions even if not themselves involved. People seem to forget just how disposal workers were before employment laws began to be enforced. Injured at work meant goodbye to income and certainly no recourse to seek compensation for damages.

Yes I know that many of you truly believe that unions forced companies to close on account of costs and that your cost of living and purchases increased as well – this is pure nonsense I assure you. Simple truth is that REALLY healthy economies are a cycle of salary in, spending done and hence more jobs created. No matter labor, semi or professional status – if other folks do not have expendable and disposal incomes, then you will not have a position to receive yours either.

So do me a personal favor [you will thank me] my friends on this Labor Day 2013 – between the sale shopping, backyard barbecues, last beach visits – take some time to read Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath book and/or watch the old black and white film version. If you are lucky when I have you all over for a grand fête some day, you can hear me recite most of the very emotional ending soliloquy spoken by Henry Fonda, “  … wherever there is a hungry man, I will be there …”. Now go be a REAL American – support ALL our citizens in seeking security and good health and in doing so you will be reminded that we REALLY are our brothers and sisters keepers … so help me G-d!!!

P.S. In my year (2013) memoir, Heiress Mommy … A Modern Super Woman Life! and recently decided Summer 2014, Life Journey of Heiress Mommy, many of the amazing REAL details concerning my late father’s business philosophy – including how his legacy has influenced myself and my dear husband in making recent decisions – will be shared. Until then, get to task and help make our beloved nation a place where ALL can prosper!!!

One Comment to “Labor Day 2013”

  1. Excellent read, I totally agree!

Leave a Reply

