Witnessing Love – Mary Frances and Dulce!

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

… She’s a brawny girl, well built and tall and sturdy, and she will know how to keep her chin out of the mud with any knight errant .

— Sancho Panza, Don Quixote’s squire, says of Dulcinea, (namesake for the Dulce in this essay!)

 

Mary Francis & Dulce 2014

A beautiful intelligent vibrant woman adopts a beautiful intelligent vibrant dog and so it begins. A REAL love so evident that all who have the privilege of knowing this team are awed. Who are they you ask that seem to affect so many? Well simple and most important to me is that the woman, Mary Frances is my friend and Dulce was her companion … I hesitate to say her dog as that does not nearly describe how this relationship should be defined. Here I want to illuminate what I and so many others viscerally experienced in the company of this duo. I tell you without hesitation that my wonderful attorney gal pal Mary Frances and Dulce define the essence of love and you my many dear readers will be gladdened by reading their story.

Mary Frances Prevost is a talented California Attorney … Determined to defend those unjustly accused and one might say as Don Quixote tilt at windmills no matter the naysayers. One must not get the wrong idea here for my friend is equal part legal crusader and a woman both charming and full of life’s vigor – beautiful both in appearance and attitude Mary Frances can be that most effective of legal professionals in that the average individual full of misconceptions might think such a beauty incapable of REAL strength. Well that is the magic my dear readers. So it was that Mary Frances saw easily these same combined characteristics when choosing a dog to adopt – her name to be forever more Dulce.

Kind, watchful, smart, loving and full of  life Dulcinea “Dulce” Prevost was born 31 October 2002 and left us for heaven on 16 September 2014 as her Mother Mary Frances embraced this sweet being with the constant love that had been at the center of their relationship. Charm I tell you … Pure and simply there was charm in this sweet dog’s face and demeanor – evident in person and in photos there was no doubt Dulce had a presence that could captivate her audience. You see dog and owner alike here … Mary Frances and her beloved Dulce both charmers but there was more than just that which made Dulce unique. Soulfulness seen in Dulce’s eyes informed and instructed all who knew her that this being was full of that which G-d most loves – goodness in the deepest sense where only joy of living is the goal and therefore a gift bestowed on anyone who spent time in the company of Dulce.

Let me describe Dulce’s life … Well there was indeed the very best of everything. Home and hearth lovely and accommodating – with no expense spared. Daycare where Dulce’s other Mom as Mary Frances well describes to look after her and then weekends at the beach. The best health care, the best food, the best to be had in every single way is how Dulce lived – actually as well, if not better than many treat their human family members is the truth of the life sweet Dulce had with Mary Frances.  When illness came here too no expense nor option denied … My friend did not choose the easy way out – Dulce would be given many more good days because Mary Frances persevered at great effort and expense with treatment. These last days included extra trips to the beach and special treats and days where Mary Frances only focus was Dulce … I tell my friend that all of us wish for the same attention, devotion and care – complete and unselfish love as we face the end of our life here. We her friends all joined Mary Frances in prayers for Dulce – asking for miracles and comfort. I am proud to say that my friend made center to her life the love and concern she had for suffering Dulce these last few months … Yes pride I write because those quiet about love lessen not only their own importance but that which the world so desperately needs. There is some odd delineation – some universal dictate that fairly or not has G-d see those most cared for as a light – a gift – those who must be recognized as having special attention in life and there after. So it was and will be that Mary Frances gave such a recognition to dear Dulce.

I shared with Mary Frances a story about my Father and I during the last days of his life. This essay is about my friend and not me but for now I will explain as I did to Mary Frances that among other lovely and poignant conversations between my dear Father and I as he neared life’s end was when he looked at me and said: “To be loved as I have been loved by you my daughter, truly is to have seen the face of G-d!”  So too I believe it was that dear Dulce saw the glory and love of G-d as she looked into Mary Frances beautiful face.

So I end with what my Jewish faith teaches about eternal life. We are always here – a energy forever existing as the scientist concur matter never dissipates and dwells endlessly within the Universe. More immediate is that eternal life is given by remembrance – Dulce will never be forgotten – certainly not by Mary Frances nor we who were privileged to see these two together. Here I am going to ask my readers to do themselves a favor … Think of it as Dulce’s gift to you. Open your minds – see REAL love – witness in honest ways and without prejudice that which is love in whatever form it takes. When you view others and those they love – those they would do anything for then in honor of Dulce and to make your life better, understand that is the glory of G-d here present among us!

 

R.I.P.   Dulcinea “Dulce” Prevost … Thank you for your presence in all our lives. We who love your dear Mom Mary Frances will look after her for you – you can find comfort now among the angels!

3 Comments to “Witnessing Love – Mary Frances and Dulce!”

  1. Reblogged this on Author Michael Charton and commented:
    How many of us always keep a part of a beloved pet with us?

  2. I shed tears of sadness and joy as I read this beautiful essay. My beloved Tira Doggie was with me for 16 years and passed on in my arms in our home, thanks to my great vet. I rescued this gentle, sweet pit bull mix and she was my constant companion. From El Paso, TX to Toronto, Canada, she was my best friend and loved me when I didn’t feel loved by anyone else. Her collar sits next to her ashes on my alter and her harness and leash are being used by a deserving dog and his family. I believe that our wonderful pets are waiting for us and we will truly be in heaven when we are united again.

Leave a Reply

