Losing Nora Ephron

by Teréza Eliasz-Solomon (HeiressMommy™)

On 26 June 2012 a light went out, permanently gone from the world. Writer, essayist, humorist, movie director, wife, mother and overall GREAT gal Nora Ephron died. This wonderful woman died far too soon, much too young at age 71.

I always pictured Ephron an old grand dame pontificating in NYC among the intelligentsia … Me having the chance to meet her, chat with her, seek her advice.

My own quick witted, brave and bold mother introduced me to Ephron’s work by giving me the book “Crazy Salad”. I think my affection for Nora might have a little to do with the fact that like my mother she was acerbic, sarcastic but also a really fair minded and loving woman – they both were the take no prisoner type of broad that I aspire to be.

Nora Ephron had in her third marriage the love she, like all of us need in this life. I am gladdened by the fact that like myself, she was married to what friends describe as a loving, supportive — her biggest fan good man. My condolences to all who loved her.

Our shared Jewish faith teaches that remembrance is a route to eternal life … For her, as I hope my own will be, was a large life and as such Nora Ephron will live on forever!

4 Responses to “Losing Nora Ephron”

  1. I love Nora Ephron. It makes me sad. I’m so glad she was willing to follow her dreams and forge the path that she did. She’s made an incredible mark, and I love that!

  2. You are in point of fact a excellent webmaster. The site loading velocity is incredible. It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a magnificent job on this subject!

  3. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for
    such info a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

Trackbacks

Leave a comment